facebook  twitter  linkedin  vimeo  flickrpink  youtube  WRAR on Instagram  WRAR on Google Plus

facebook  twitter  linkedin  vimeo  flickrpink  youtube  WRAR on Instagram  WRAR on Google Plus

Award Winners Announced at 2015 Annual Luncheon

WILMINGTON, N.C. (December 4, 2015) – During its quarterly membership meeting on Thursday, December 3rd, the Wilmington Regional Association of Realtors (WRAR) recognized several of its members for their superior performance, dedication and community service.

Becky Brown of Keller Williams was honored as the 2015 recipient of the Paul Sullins Community Service Award. Becky demonstrates her commitment to bettering her community through outstanding public service. Her passion to serve others is evident through her work with Habitat for Humanity, WARM, Nourish NC, Yahweh Center, Good Shepard, American Red Cross, AND the American Heart Association.

She has also worked tirelessly to raise money for the Wilmington REALTORS® Foundation

Hugh Williams of The Property Shop was recognized as the NCAR Rising Star. Hugh served on the WRAR Finance Committee since joining the Association as a member in July 2014. He is a member of the Coastal Carolina Real Estate Investors Association and a Board Member of Windgrove Homeowners Association. He serves his community by being involved in many fundrising events including the Paws4People 5K Run and the Out of Darkness Walk for Suicide Prevention.

Karen Moran Germ of Intracoastal Realty was awarded the 2015 Sally Noffsinger Scholarship Award. This award was started in 1987 and named after one of the first women in the Wilmington real estate market.

Laurie Smith of Network Realty was awarded the 2015 Cathy Clark Memorial Award. This award is given to a Realtor and MLS member who has held membership for at least two years and, as a full-time active agent, and has attended at least one local or state association sponsored seminar.

Chris Huff with The Law Firm of Hutchens, Senter & Britton P.A was selected as the 2015 Allied Member of the Year. This award is given to an Allied Member who has made outstanding efforts on behalf of WRAR and the real estate profession.

Chris Huff actively supports WRAR by attending numerous events, providing sponosorship for activities and will be a featured Value Plus Business Member in 2016. Chris is always willing to lend a hand, donates to RPAC by accepting the President's Challenge!

Todd Toconis of Town and Country Real Estate was named the Wilmington Downtown Top Producer, for the second year in a row, by Wilmington Downtown Inc. (WDI).  The area for this award is bounded by the Cape Fear River, Wooster Street, Nixon Street and 16th Street. This is the third year that WDI and WRAR collaborated on the award.

Mary Ann Euverard of Intracoastal Realty was the first recipient of the 2015 Life Member Award. The requirement to be considered for this award are association and community involvement as well as being a member for at least 35 years!

Mary has been influential in shaping our association and has served on many committees during her membership including: Recruiting/Certiying, Strategic Planning, Executive Roundtable Nominating, BIC Orientation, and BoD of Wilmington REALTOR® Foundation.

Deryl Smith of Century 21 Sweyer & Associates also received the 2015 Life Member Award. Deryl's service spans more than three decades and he served as the association President in 1989. He was an instrumental part of the planning phase of the new association building and facility, as he served on the Building Committee as well as the Grievance and Professional Standards Committees.

Other notable recognitions include Julie Damron, Amy Holcomb, Tom Gale, Bobby Jean Harvey, Ea Ruth, and Will Leonard who all received a special Meritorious Award from president Sherri Pickard for their tireless efforts to further the community and the association. Leadership Academy Graduates include: Walter Lee Crouch Jr., Jane H. Dodd, Fred Gainey, Gloria Green, Thom Potratz, Sherri Pridgen, and Michelle Leigh Wheeles. Workforce Housing Specialist Certification earned by: Dawn McDowell, Liz Bianchini, Elizabeth Elrod, Bridgette Simone, Toni Mims-Bowman, Eric Roncs, and JoLynn Roney. 

The Realtor of the Year, Salesperson of the Year and Hall of Fame Awards will be given out at the 2016 Installation Banquet scheduled for January 15.